DJ Pica Pica Pica – Planetary Natural Love Gas Webbin’ 199999 [1999] CD Album

Posted 15/04/2014 Music ,

DJ 光光光 (aka DJ Pica Pica Pica aka EYE from the Boredoms) - Planetary Natural Love Gas Webbin' 199999

FLAC / Lossless / CD / 528.37 Mb / J-Pop

DJ Pica Pica Pica is spin-off/psuedonym of Eye Yamakanta, founder of the Japanese Noise Rock band the Boredoms. However, DJ Pica Pica Pica's sole release, Planetary Natural Love Gas Webbin' 199999, is not very similar to the insane, unlistenable craziness of the Boredoms.

It is, in fact, electronic dance music. I think of DJ Pica as the electronica equivalent of Mr. Bungle; Eye picks up and discards musical and not-so-musical bits of from everywhere on the spectrum, mixing in and juxtaposing airplanes and chirpy vocal samples and traditional celtic music. However, the odd bit is that Planetary... is far more dancable than any of what you'd think of as other "avante-garde" electronica: it has none of the glitchy or off-tempo nuttiness of IDMers Autechre or Aphex Twin; there is in fact a very definite and constant beat to it. That is not to say, of course, that you'd want to dance to it.

Regardless, Eye obviously knows what he's doing; far from some loony fucking around with a sampler, Planetary Natural Love Gas Webbin' 199999 is in fact a fascinating and enjoyable listen.

The tracklisting according to various online resources, runs as follows:

1.The Legendary Mama Sana - Rahahiveld (4:13)
2. Baha Forest People - Water Drums (3:55)
3. Beats from...Banaspati (3:31)
4. Flugschädel - Malm (2:32)
5. Suns Of Arqa, Astralasia - Sul-E-Stomp (Ceilioh Mix) (5:42)
6. Subtle Tease - Emplia (4:06)
7. Fat Day - Burrega Theme (2:32)
8. Weddell Seals (3:00)
9. Sound Effects for Clubs and DJs Vol. 2 (Birds, Jet Stream) (1:54)
10. It Sounds Like Liquid Sky (2:10)
11. Felisia - Samba de Janeiro (Ralphi's Samba Drummy Dub) (3:34)
12. Funky Fluid - Bonus Beats (2:21)
13. Niagara - Sanganoonbo (6:07)
14. Robin Jones - Royal Mosambique (2:01)
15. Mutabaruka - Dis Poem '99 (Flutestramental Mix) (3:15)
16. Alpha Omega - Visions (0:59)
17. Idjut Boys, Laj & Quakerman - The Last Sheet (4:02)
18. Yukiko Hayashi- Be My Husband (1:07)
19. D.S.L., D. House - Soothe Your Soul (Drum to Soothe Mix) (3:46)
20. El-Stew - Vintage (2:19)
21. Like a Tim - 1997 (1:16)
22. Daniel Wang - Let's Go to Mars (1:41)
23. Philip Glass Ensemble - From Music in Twelve Parts, Pt. 3 (2:25)
24. L. Young, Raj Gupta - BTS Beats (1:12)
25. 5th Edition - Road Trip (1:10)
26. DJ Disk - Htrako (1:34)

The 26 index point timings listed above are correct, however the tracks do not correspond to the index points. Instead, the tracks listed are the first 26 of the 48 in the mix. Due to the style of the mix, it is near impossible to work out which tracks belong to which index point.


These files can all be downloaded at Usenet. Get 14 Days for free Access to USENET. Free 300 GB Unlimited downloads!