V.A. – GS I Love You [1996] CD Album

Posted 13/11/2015 Music ,

[Album] V.A. - GS I Love You [1996]
(オムニバス - GS I Love You)
MP3 / 320 / CD
FLAC / Lossless / CD

Release Info
Review by Richie Unterberger

Japan, like many non-English-speaking countries, was home to a thriving garage/beat band scene in the 1960s. The Japanese scene, at least to Western ears, was more peculiar than most: for one thing, it didn't really kick into gear until well into 1966, and Japanese groups were still playing in an early British Invasion-influenced style until the end of the decade. Singing in both Japanese and heavily accented English, the guitars (as a result of the Ventures huge popularity there) were surf-ish Mosrites, and the material was often a strange fusion of Merseybeat, punk, and over-the-top weirdness. GS I Love You is a 28-track compilation of songs originally released on the Crown and Teichiku labels, and while it's no match for the British groups (or, for that matter, the best beat/punk groups from Holland and Sweden), it's truly like no other '60s rock you've heard. The guitar work is often frenzied and imaginative; the vocals walk the line between tough raunch and low comedy, particularly when they mangle English phonetics (the Swing West's version of Arthur Brown's "Fire," as well as the Out Cast's butchering of "Long Tall Sally" defy printed description). Sound quality and liner notes (in English) are excellent, and cuts like the Blue Jeans "One More Please" are genuinely good fusions of pop and punk, making this a good pickup for the more adventurous '60s collector.

* Out Casts: You Gat A Call Me/ Everything's Alright
* Spiders: Dynamite/ Monkey Dance
* Blue Jeans: One More Please
* Terrys: Stop Dance
* Playboy: Shevidevi De Yuko/ Kaette Okure
* Swing West: Kokoro No Tokimeki/ Fire
* Rangers: Let's Go Rangers
* Napoleon: Koi O Kesunda
* Cougars: Aphrodite/ Suki Nanda
* Spiders: Wipeout/ Furi Furi
* The Burns: I Saw Her Standing There
* Days & Nights: Bara O Anokoni
* Out Casts: Let's Go On The Beach/ Bokuno Sobakara
* Voltage: Hold On I'm Comin'
* Cougars: J & A
* Spiders: Seishun A Go-Go
* Van-Dogs: Hey Girl
* The Toys: Omiyasan
* Out Casts: Long Tall Sally/ Kimamana Shelly/ Jane Jane

01 You Gat A Call Me.flac 19.95 MB
02 Everything's Alright.flac 14.95 MB
03 Dynamite.flac 19.40 MB
04 Monkey Dance.flac 18.81 MB
05 One More Please.flac 19.96 MB
06 Stop Dance.flac 15.74 MB
07 Shevidevi De Yuko.flac 15.60 MB
08 Kaette Okure.flac 15.74 MB
09 Kokoro No Tokimeki (Ajoen Ajoen).flac 18.12 MB
10 Fire.flac 18.81 MB
11 Let's Go Rangers.flac 13.87 MB
12 Koi O Kesunda.flac 19.80 MB
13 Aphrodite.flac 17.50 MB
14 Suki Nanda.flac 23.59 MB
15 Wipeout.flac 17.72 MB
16 Furi Furi.flac 21.87 MB
17 I Saw Her Standing There.flac 20.92 MB
18 Bara O Anokoni.flac 19.83 MB
19 Let's Go On The Beach.flac 18.02 MB
20 Bokuno Sobakara.flac 7.35 MB
21 Hold On I'm Comin'.flac 18.83 MB
22 J & A.flac 19.51 MB
23 Seishun A Go Go.flac 16.61 MB
24 Hey Girl.flac 20.72 MB
25 Omiyasan.flac 19.13 MB
26 Long Tall Sally.flac 19.50 MB
27 Kimamana Shelly.flac 13.76 MB
28 Jane Jane.flac 17.06 MB

These files can all be downloaded at Usenet.

[Album] V.A. – GS I Love You [1996]_320CD.rar alfafile up mirror
(オムニバス – GS I Love You)_CDflac.rar alfafile mirror

Get 14 Days for free Access to USENET. Free 300 GB Unlimited downloads!